Cold Season Must-Haves

Is it fitting that my last post was titled, “Baby It’s Cold Outside” and now I’m writing about colds? Probably. Now that it’s basically winter outside, it’s time to start preparing for cold season. Poor Blaire has been battling a cold for the past two weeks. It got worse over the weekend so we went to the doctor on Monday. He assured us that it’s still just a cold and it will eventually pass. We’re no strangers to a sick baby… Throughout her 8 months, Blaire has had several ear infections, lots of stuffy noses and even spent three days in the hospital with pneumonia (back when she was 3 months old). These were the worst three days of my life. There is nothing as heartbreaking as a helpless, sick child. Through our battles with colds and illnesses, these are the things I’ve found to be especially helpful when our little one is battling a cold. (Please be sure to always check the labels on these products to ensure your little one is old enough for them. Most of these products are not safe for newborns or infants under 3 months of age. It’s always recommended to consult your baby’s physician before giving them medication.) I hope that your little one will stay healthy all year-round and that you won’t have to use any of these, but just in case…

Cold Season Must Haves for Babies Saline Drops // Gel Sheets // Thermometer // Resinol // Humidifier // NoseFrida // Vicks

Saline Nose Spray/Drops: This is actually the exact brand that was prescribed to us in the hospital when Blaire had pneumonia. If you’re not familiar, you place a few drops in your child’s nostril (it loosens any mucus that’s there) and then you quickly suck it out. If you don’t suck it out quickly enough, then it will push that gross stuff down your child’s throat. Either way, you’re making it easier for them to breathe. :)

Be Koool Soft Gel Sheets: These little gel sheets were recommended to me by my best friend! She has always used them on her daughter whenever she has a fever. The name says it all. They’re cool, gel strips that you can stick on your child (forehead, chest, back) and it helps to cool them down. Blaire has always seemed to like them when she has a fever. Since they’re so cool, she usually does a cute little shiver when I first put them on, and then doesn’t mess with them.

Safety 1st Digital Thermometer: Anytime your baby is battling a cold it’s important to regularly check their temperature to ensure they’re not running a fever. We registered for one of the temporal scanners, but read so many mixed reviews about whether or not they were trusted for an accurate temperature. We ended up exchanging it for a simple, digital thermometer.

Resinol Ointment: Whether it’s from the cold or illness itself, or from the antibiotic your baby has been prescribed, then you know that many sick babies end up with diaper rash.  I was trying this Maximum Strength Butt Paste and it just wasn’t helping, it actually seemed to be making it worse. I reached out to my amazing Facebook friends and they had so many recommendations! Paladin was one of the most recommended ointments, but my Walgreens claimed not to carry it. So instead I went with the Resinol and have also been using this Gold Bond Medicated Baby Powder. It’s been 24 hours and it is already so much better. They have been such a lifesaver.

Crane Cool Mist Drop Shape Humidifier: I LOVE this humidifier. It works great and it so cute. We keep this one in our room, and have this cute owl humidifier in Blaire’s room. I love hers, too! We actually bought it last winter when I was pregnant and had a cold. It stopped working shortly after Blaire was born (late March, maybe?) I hadn’t filled out the product registration or kept my proof of purchase, so there technically wasn’t anything Crane could do for me. However, since I had purchased through Bed, Bath & Beyond, they were willing to swap it out for me. I was so excited, since checking with them was a last resort… I highly recommend shopping with them!

NoseFrida Nasal Aspirator: So this seems gross, and it kind of is. But, any parent with a child who is having trouble sleeping or eating because they can’t breathe well through their nose will go to extreme lengths to help them. This includes sucking out their nose. Please note: there is a little filter between the base and the tube, so you will NOT get anything in your mouth. Seriously. You won’t.

Vicks Baby Rub: This is something I have always found useful anytime I’m congested. I’ve become aware to the fact that there’s a great debate as to whether or not it actually helps you breathe better, or just makes you feel like you’re breathing better.  For us, on the nights that I’ve used this on her, there really seems to be a difference in her breathing. While she’s still congested, it definitely seems like she is breathing a little easier.

Again. These are just the things that I keep on hand and find to work well for us. …Here’s hoping our sweet girl is all better soon. I hate hearing her cough and struggle to breathe through her nose all night long. (I’m also not a fan of waking up every 30 minutes throughout the night and getting up at 4:50am.) I’d love to hear what you use when your little one is under the weather. Having a healthy, happy baby is my #1 priority.  xo

One thought on “Cold Season Must-Haves

Leave a Reply

