Unstuffed Green Peppers

Unstuffed Green Peppers are my favorite cold weather dish! I originally came across the idea of not actually stuffing the green peppers on Pinterest last year, and it has changed my life! (Original recipe here.) I do mine a bit differently, a way I think is quicker and easier. I have had lots of friends and family ask for my recipe, so I thought I’d share it with you, too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Green Pepper (Diced)
  • 1 – 8 oz. can of Tomato Sauce
  • 1 – 14.5 oz. can of Diced Tomatoes
  • 2.5 cups of Water
  • 1 – 8 oz. box of Zatarain’s Jambalaya Rice Mix*
  • 1 lb. Ground Beef
  • Salt & Pepper

Stuffed / Unstuffed Green Peppers Ingredients

*If you’d like to make a bigger batch, you can simply get the larger box of Rice Mix! No need to add in extra of the other ingredients.

Prep Time: 5-10 minutes
Cook Time: 35 minutes

1. Brown 1 lb. of ground beef in a large pan. Keep in mind that you’ll eventually have all of your ingredients in this pan, so it should be large.

2. Once beef has been browned, dump out the grease/fat. Then add in the diced green peppers, the tomato sauce, the diced tomatoes and the water. Then, add the Rice Mix.

3. From here, you’re going to heat that rice mixture to a boil. Once it comes to a boil, then cover it with a lid and reduce the heat to low. You’ll let it cook for 25 minutes (or until the rice is tender). Be sure to stir frequently!

4. Serve with shredded Mozzarella Cheese on top of the mix, if you wish. Enjoy!

The Zatarain’s Jambalaya Mix has such a great flavor that it eliminates the other spices you would usually add in to flavor the white rice!

Not so pretty, but it is tasty!

Not so pretty, but it is delicious!

I follow the same recipe when I want Stuffed Green Peppers! Adjustments when stuffing your peppers are:
1.Buy extra Green Peppers! Buy as many as you’d like to stuff. The recipe above will be enough to stuff between 6-8 Green Peppers.

2. Don’t dice your peppers for the rice mixture as stated above (in Step 2).

3. Once your rice mixture is finished, you’ll stuff it in to the peppers. Cover them with foil, and place them in the oven for 45 minutes at 350°.

4. After the 45 minutes, uncover the peppers, sprinkle with Mozzarella Cheese and place back in the over for another 15 minutes (or until peppers are tender). Enjoy!

Much prettier when it's "stuffed".

Much prettier when it’s “stuffed”.

If you try out my recipe, I’d love to hear how it turned out! I think this is the perfect food for fall, I’ve adjusted my recipe and even made it in the crock pot as a soup. I could eat it every, single day. I’ll leave you with a picture of my cute kitchen helper. xo

Photo Oct 06, 4 48 29 PM

Leave a Reply

